After the Fall Catalogue

After the Fall Catalogue

from 8.00

Hudson Valley Center for Contemporary Art: September 19, 2010 – July 21 2011

Knoxville Museum of Art: October 27, 2011 – February 5, 2012

18 Artists from 6 Countries in Eastern and Central Europe

Some of the most impressive new art today, especially in painting and video, is coming from Eastern and Central Europe’s former communist countries. After the Fall attempts to understand how this art differs from art in the West and, more importantly, why artists from this region are making such compelling work at this moment. Countries included in After the Fall are Croatia (Marin Majic, Elvis Krstulovic, Goran Skofic, Josip Tiric, Zlatan Vehabovic), Czech Republic (Josef Bolf, Daniel Pitin), Hungary (Zsolt Bodoni, Alexander Tinei, Attila Szucs), Latvia (Janis Avotins), Romania (Leonardo Silaghi, Marius Bercea, Adrian Ghenie, Ion Grigorescu, Serban Savu, Ciprian Muresan) and Slovenia (Matija Brumen). This is a heterogeneous political, social, cultural and religious region, each having evolved differently after the fall of their proletarian governmental systems.

AFTER THE FALL also features works by Josef Bolf and Daniel Pitin (Czech Republic); Zlatan Vehabović, Josip Tirić, Elvis Kristulović, Goran Skofic, and Marin Majić (Croatia); Zsolt Bodoni, Alexander Tinei, Attila Szűcs (Hungary); Janis Avotins (Latvia); and Matija Brumen (Slovenia).

Membership Status:
Add To Cart